EYAM HALL AND CRAFT CENTRE
Eyam Hall, built in 1671, has remained in the Wright family ever since. This fine old house is now open to the public for conducted tours. It was first opened to the public in 1992, but still retains the intimate atmosphere of a much loved private home. Portraits of the ancestor's of the latest branch of the Wright family to occupy the hall adorning the walls.
The tour visits the beautiful stone flagged hall, a unique tapestry room, the bedroom with a magnificent tester bed. Other rooms reveal costumes belonging to family members, precious artefacts and fascinating family mementos. Observant visitors may even come across the ghostly apparition of Sarah Mills, a young servant girl, who drowned herself in the well and still answers the night bell!
The out buildings round the attractive courtyard have been turned into craft shops, together with café and gift shop. Opposite are the village stocks, where at one time you might have found a lead miner imprisoned by the Barmote Court for a mining offence.
The 17th century walled garden, now open to the public, is nearing the end of a restoration project. It contains four distinct areas dating back to its origins; the knot garden, the kitchen garden, the bowling green and lawn. Formal gravelled paths and historic architectural features intermingle with specimen trees, mixed borders, espaliered fruit trees and a beautiful rose archway.
The garden continues to develop and improve. In recent times there have been several changes to the lawned area, a new gravel path, improvements to the rose walk and a traditional stone fountain. Group tours for ten or more people can be arranged given due notice with the Head Gardener. For children there is an animal trail to follow.
www.derbyshire-peakdistrict.co.uk is an independent, not for profit website.
No recommendation of any establishment is implied by inclusion on this website.
EYAM HALL AND CRAFT CENTRE
Eyam Hall (Tel. 01433 631976) is a fascinating 17th century manor house that has been the home of the Wright family for over 300 years. The hall is available for weddings. A working craft centre is situated in the old farm buildings to the hall. Restaurant and gift shop. For more information contact the telephone number above or visit: www.eyamhall.co.uk
THE DISCOVER DERBYSHIRE AND THE PEAK DISTRICT GUIDE
Provides a wide range of features with heritage trails and detailed countryside walks, through some of the most scenically attractive countryside in the UK.
1. To return to the main site click the link below.
2. To return to the contents page of the main website click the link below.
Any tourist visiting the beautiful village of Eyam for the first time, not knowing of its tragic history, rapidly becomes aware by reading the plaques on the walls of buildings.
The people of the village once endured an epic struggle. In a period of only just over 12 months, from September 1665, 260 people died from the plague out of a population of about 800.
This walk provides splendid scenery and regular reminders of the terrible hardships endured by the people of Eyam during the plague.
On the outward journey the Boundary Stone, where neighbouring villagers left supplies during the plague is passed.
On the return journey the Riley Graves and Mompesson's Well are visited.
All details on this page were correct at the time of publication, but changes may be made without notification.